LATEST

[COVER] Lee Hyun Woo talks about acting as ‘Cha Eun Gyeol’ in To The Beautiful You and hopes to return as a better actor

15th October 2012, Singapore – {To The Beautiful You} Lee Hyun Woo Exclusive Round Interview and Meet & Greet Session Playing the character of Cha Eun Gyeol, a mood creator who is full of his own charms in the recent drama To The Beautiful You, Lee Hyun Woo has not only demonstrated the role well but has also received much love and support from fans and viewers alike. Starring alongside idol stars such as Min Ho (SHINee), Sulli (f(x)) & Kwang Hee (ZE:A) for the first time, the young actor voiced out that it was overall a very good working experience as they shared many fun memories together throughout the filming process.

“There were many lasting impressions while filming the drama. If I had to pick a favorite scene, it would be the one where all of us went to the pension house and had fun together. It didn’t feel like I was acting it out because I really enjoyed that particular scene.”

Despite his busy schedule, the 19-year-old actor made a trip down to Malaysia and Singapore as part of the drama promotional activities for To The Beautiful You, which is currently airing on ONE (StarHub TV Ch 823) every Wednesday and Thursday at 9.05pm. Not a fresh face on screen, Lee Hyun Woo has previously participated in popular dramas such as King Sejong the Great (2008), The Return of Iljimae (2009), Queen Seondeok (2009), God of Study (2010), Equator Man (2012), just to name a few.

Having started out as a child actor in his acting career, Hyun Woo has picked up various skills and experiences from acting and shares about his desire to return as a better actor on screen, “There are many roles that I wish to partake on in the near future. I don’t feel that there is any one character that is more distinctive or stands out more from the roles I have previously played because each character has its own unique appearance. Sometimes I worry about not being able to deliver my role well or when my acting is not up to standard, but it drives me to work harder and become a better actor than before.”

 

Hyun Woo was all smiles when asked about his participation as ‘Cha Eun Gyeol‘ in To The Beautiful You. Labelled as an active and playful character, Cha Eun Gyeol is one whom have garnered much attention and brought about a series of joy and laughter to the viewers. On a question about switching character in the drama, Hyun Woo answers without hesitation, “I will still choose to act as ‘Cha Eun Gyeol’ as this character is close to my heart and appeals to me the most. I have some regrets over my performance, so I would wish to perform better in the same role if given another chance.”
 
“On the other hand, if I can change the ending of To The Beautiful You, I hope that all the characters like Tae Jun, Jae Hee, Jong Min, Seung Ri, Hyeon Jae, etc can come together and carry on building the relationship to have a happy ending.”

“In the drama, Cha Eun Gyeol has a one-sided love for Gu Jae Hee and he confessed to her without knowing she was disguised as a guy. Cha Eun Gyeol was probably feeling in such a manner, that’s how he portrayed it due to his circumstance. If you were to put me in the same situation but as a real life example, it would actually be very difficult for me to come to the same conclusion. I have not experienced a real relationship nor one-sided love before and was just acting according to the script, which was probably how I would feel in the shoes of Eun Gyeol.”
During the Meet & Greet session in Singapore, Hyun Woo was greeted with exploding cheers from the audience and took the opportunity to introduce the drama that is currently airing exclusively on ONE. It was a fun-filled evening as he had the chance to try out some local food on stage (such as Beehoon, Rojak & Chicken rice) and interact with lucky fans selected by the host. Needless to say, the actor had successfully fulfilled the requests of fans by charming them with 귀여워, the cutesy song from the drama itself. Reluctantly leaving the stage when the Meet & Greet session had concluded, Hyun Woo expressed his longing to visit Singapore and meet his fans again in the near future.

“As an actor, I am deeply thankful for the chance to play a role in a drama or movie. When the role is nicely performed, I find it very encouraging to receive feedback from the viewers and fans. It boasts my interest further and drives me to work harder in my next project. Acting provides me multiple opportunities to play different roles and experience the unique lifestyles from these roles, which helps me to better portray and present the character well on screen. I enjoy being an actor and am really thankful and grateful for all the support shown to me thus far.”

We reckon that it won’t be long before fans and viewers can catch Hyun Woo on screen again for his next drama/movie! Special thanks to ONE for the invitation to the media round interview as well as Lee Hyun Woo Meet & Greet session in Singapore! To The Beautiful You is currently premiering on ONE every Wednesday and Thursday at 9.05pm. Check out the following channels to catch the drama exclusively only on ONE!

  • ONE – StarHub TV Ch 823
  • ONE HD – StarHub TV Ch 876
  • ONE (Malay) – StarHub TV Ch 124
  • ONE HD – SingTel mioTV Ch 513/604
More photos taken at the media round interview and Meet & Greet session can be found via our Facebook page here:
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.438456182856837.89747.194809560554835&type=1 (Please do not remove or edit the watermark on the images. All images in this post are to credit to HallyuSG. Thank you!Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to receive the latest updates and media coverages of upcoming K-Pop events in Singapore!

1 Comment on [COVER] Lee Hyun Woo talks about acting as ‘Cha Eun Gyeol’ in To The Beautiful You and hopes to return as a better actor

  1. u r my role model.. i like u so much.. i am ur big fan.. good luck.. fighting……!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment